The Imperial Realm :: Miranda
MMORTS.COM Logo
NEWS REVIEWS GAMES FORUMS

Article: Game: Boundless Planet Preview

By Admin on 2006-03-05 11:52:25
Homepage: mmorts.com email:admin at mmorts dot com


I recently signed up for a beta account at Boundless Planet. I thought I'd write up my thoughts on this fledgeling MMORTS title. I'll wait until the game comes out of beta for a full review.

The beta is free to play, and the player community is growing. A lot of the key elements of an MMORTS are in place. Graphics are serviceable, there are occasional sound effects, pathfinding seems to work, they have a minimap and the fog-of-war. There seems to be a decent variety of units and buildings in the tech tree. As for the MMO aspects, there is a simple private and public chat mechanism, guilds, and while the few times I've been online there have been only a few people online, everyone is friendly.

Boundless Planet continues to play while you are offline. There's no automatic base protection, your units aren't saved, if you aren't around to watch things, stuff gets blown up. For newbies, the game gives you 36 hours where you won't be attacked. In my first week I haven't been attacked, although I had some action and blew up some transports of a nearby empire tonight, so I'm expecting some retribution before the next time I sign on. I don't have any base defenses yet, I'm still researching, hopefully it will be done before I have to log off.

Researching new technologies takes a very long time. Fortunately, you can start some research and log off, when you come back in a few hours the research will be complete. Research is key in getting access to more powerful units and base defenses.

The world is large, so having a good minimap is very important. I didn't find the minimap particularly useful at first, however when I discovered that PgUp and PgDn zoom the minimap in and out, it suddenly became more helpful. One of the big problems I had at in the beginning was losing track of my units. Once they went off the minimap, they were impossible to find again.

The second time I signed on, I couldn't find my base. I had apparently wandered off before logging off the previous session. After some tedious searching, I went to the website to read the helpful instructions here and found out you can simply press the Home key.

While the art in the game is serviceable, these guys really need to hire an artist. Some more color and some more attractive textures would really go a long way in making this game more attractive to potential players. The trees are quite pretty close up and the units are sort of blocky but serviceable.

The camera also needs some work. If you zoom the camera out and move around the map, the terrain textures pop in and out, the terrain silhouette pops, it just isn't pretty. At higher altitudes you can't even tell where your units are. It would be nice if there was some indication where they are. I remember when Command and Conquer Generals came out, the totally mobile 3D camera sounded like it would be so great, but in the end it was just disorienting. I left it pointing north all the time for simplicity of navigation. Boundless Planet's camera isn't any better. I didn't find the latitude/longitude coordinates on the minimap much help. One of my units was attacked and the message told me the coordinates, but it was long blown up before I could find my way to its location.

While a lot faster than Time of Defiance, unit production is still pretty slow. If you're used to the short build times of the Command and Conquer series, you're going to be frustrated. I've always thought the point of RTS games was to get lots of units and let them fight it out. Maybe with online it is just too difficult to get lots of units all on the screen at the same time battling it out, but it sounds like fun to me.

Having some idea of just how complicated an undertaking an MMORTS game is, I have to commend the people at Boundless Planet on what they have accomplished so far. They have got the elements of a full-on MMORTS game coming together and it is very impressive. I hope they will continue to work on and refine the game so that some time in the near future everyone can go roam the boundless planet. If you have a chance, go give it a spin yourself.

Screenshots (1024x768)




By on 2019-04-20 08:25:33
Homepage: email:ralfragland at gmail dot com
I enjoy looking through an article that can make people think.
Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!
By - on 2021-11-22 23:09:39
Homepage: - email:-
Harga Bitcoin meningkat hingga mencapai nilai di kisaran Rp 900 juta.
By - on 2021-11-30 08:53:44
Homepage: - email:-
________ _____ ___ ____ _ ________ _ ____ ______ _ _________ _ ________ __ __ ____ ___ ______
______
https://ijmarket.com/blog/%d8%aa%d8%b5%d8%a7%d9%88%db%8c%d8%b1-%da%af%d9%84%d8%b3-%d9%87%d8%a7%db%8c-%d9%84%d9%88%d8%b1%d9%81%d8%aa%d9%87-%d8%a7%d8%b2-s22-%d8%ac%d8%b2%d8%a6%db%8c%d8%a7%d8%aa%db%8c-%d8%a7%d8%b2-%d8%a7%db%8c/
By - on 2021-12-02 12:44:53
Homepage: - email:-
Terrific work! That is the type of information that are meant to be shared around the web.
Disgrace on Google for no longer positioning this post upper!
Come on over and talk over with my web site . Thanks =)
By - on 2021-12-05 23:24:41
Homepage: - email:-
Woah! I'm really digging the template/theme of this blog.
It's simple, yet effective. A lot of times it's very difficult to get that "perfect balance" between usability and
appearance. I must say that you've done a superb job with this.
In addition, the blog loads extremely fast for me
on Firefox. Superb Blog!
By - on 2021-12-09 15:57:53
Homepage: - email:-
I love it when individuals come together and share thoughts.
Great site, stick with it!
By - on 2021-12-12 18:50:36
Homepage: - email:-
Decentralised blockchains are immutable, which suggests data as
quickly as entered is irreversible.
By - on 2021-12-13 04:32:07
Homepage: - email:-
I blog quite often and I really thank you for your information. The article has really peaked my interest.
I'm going to book mark your blog and keep checking for new information about once a week.
I opted in for your RSS feed as well.
By - on 2021-12-28 13:52:57
Homepage: - email:-
WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for Nicelook Apparel
By - on 2021-12-28 16:57:58
Homepage: - email:-
Wonderful article! This is the type of info that are meant to be shared
around the web. Disgrace on Google for no longer positioning this put
up higher! Come on over and discuss with my site . Thanks =)
By - on 2021-12-31 01:57:54
Homepage: - email:-
Actually when someone doesn't understand then its up to other viewers that they will help,
so here it happens.
By - on 2022-01-01 02:18:06
Homepage: - email:-
_______ ____ ______ ________ _____ ______ _ _____
_____ ____ __ ____ ___ __ ____ _____ __ ___ ___ _____ ___ ___ ___
____ ___ ______ ___ ___ __ _____
___ _ _____ __ __ __ ___ __ __ ______ ____ _ _____ _____ ______ ___ _ ___ __ ____ _____ __ ____ ____ ___ ____ __ _____ ______ ___.

___ ________ __ _______ _ ______ ___ __ _____
______ ______ ____ __ __ _____ ___
________ __ ____. ____ __ ________ ____ _____
____ _____ 4K _ ____ _____ ____ _____ __ ____.

___ _____ ___ ______ _ __ __________ ____________ ____ ____ __
__ _____ _____ _______ ______ __ ___ __ ______.
_______ __ _____ ____ _____
__ ________ Q80T _______ ____ ___._____ ____ Tizen__ ________ ___ _______ _____ ____ _ ____ ___
____ _ _______ ______ __ __ ______ _____ ____ _____ ___.

_____ _____ __ _____ __ ____ _______ _ ______ ______ _____
____ __ ____ ______ _ __ ___ __ _________ __________ _____ ____ _____ ___.
______ ____ ______ __ __ __ _____ ____ webOS __ ________ LG NanoCell TV Nano91___ _____ ___._____ ____ webOS_______ ______ ____ __ __ ___
______ _ ____ ___ ______ _____ __ _____ _____ ____.
___ _____ ____ _______ ______
_____ _______ __ _____ ______ _ ________ _____ ____ ____ _ ______ __ ______ ____ _____ ____.
_____ ________ ____ __ ___ ____ ____ __
______ Dolby Vision & Dolby Atmos__ _____ _____ ___.

_ ___ _____ __ ________ ___ __ __ __ _____ ____ __ _________ __ ____ .

_______ __ __ ___ ____ _____ ____ __ ____ __ ___ __ ______ ____ __ ___ ____ _____ ____ __ ____ ___ __ ______ __ 12 _______ _____ ___
__ ___ __ ___ ____ ________ ____ ____ ____
____ . __ ___ __ ___ __ _____ ____ __ ____
___ ________ __ _____ ____ ____ __ _____ _____ ___ __ ___ ________ ___ .

__ __ _____ __ ___ __ _____ ______ ________ ______ __ ____ _______ __
___ ________ ___ ______ ________ ___ _____ __ _____
____ __ ________ ___ . ______ __ ____ ___ ____ __
_____ ____ _____ ___ ____ ______ __ ___ _____ ___
_____ __ ____ ___ _ __ ___ _____ ___ __ __ __ ____
___ ____ _ ___ ___ ____ ___ __ __ ___
_____ __ ___ . ________ __ ___ __ ___ __ ____
__ ____ __ ________ ___ ____ ______ __ __ __ __ ________ ___ ___ ______ 2017 _____
___ ________ ___ ________ _______
________ ___ ____ ___ __ ___ __ ____ .
dozinkala
By - on 2022-01-03 08:29:52
Homepage: - email:-
I am actually grateful to the owner of this web site who has
shared this wonderful piece of writing at here.
By - on 2022-01-08 12:04:22
Homepage: - email:-
news dallas
http://armaghanmag.asblog.ir/
By - on 2022-01-21 09:03:58
Homepage: - email:-
What's up to all, the contents existing at this web page are in fact amazing for
people experience, well, keep up the nice work fellows.
By - on 2022-01-21 14:23:55
Homepage: - email:-
Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers?
I'm kinda paranoid about losing everything I've worked hard
on. Any tips?
By - on 2022-01-23 16:01:20
Homepage: - email:-
w health organization

Add New Comment to this Topic

Add Article

Admin Log In